Catholic school board celebrates 38 students with leadership awards

The past two years of dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic has been both challenging and chaotic for students but that hasn’t stopped many of them from stepping up to the plate and taking on leadership roles and responsibilities.

As part of Catholic Education Week (May 1 to May 6) Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board honored 38 students who have done exactly that through the annual Catholic Student Leadership Awards, celebrated recently at Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School in Peterborough.

One student was selected from each elementary and secondary school and winners were presented with a special medallion. Award recipients were nominated by principals, teachers and in some cases, fellow students. Each demonstrated outstanding qualities in Catholic leadership, family commitment, involvement in school affairs, involvement in community activities and dedication to a difficult situation or task.

“These award winners are true role models who embody the goals of our Catholic Graduate Expectations,” said board chair Braden Leal. “Catholic Education Week affords us a perfect time to pay tribute to the student leaders in our schools and reflect on the importance of faith in our lives, and the role it plays in Catholic education.”

This year’s recipients are:

• Faith Griffiths: St Mary CES, Lindsay

• Niamh Walsh: STA Virtual Elementary School

• James Gouin: STA Virtual Secondary School

• Jayden Hopkins: St John CES, Peterborough

• Ruby Briand: Holy Cross CSS, Peterborough

• William White: St Peter CSS, Peterborough

• Quinten Fowler: St Paul CES, Peterborough

• Makenzie Nichols: Holy Trinity CSS, Courtice

• Chase Hudson: St. Stephen CSS, Bowmanville

• Lola Bittner: St Catherine CES, Peterborough

• Avery Pick: St Patrick CES, Peterborough

• Michel Gagné: St Michael CES, Cobourg

• Liam Cook: Immaculate Conception CES, Peterborough

• Anna Golobic: St Francis of Assisi CES, Newcastle

• Alena Vuong: Holy Family CES, Bowmanville

• Elizabeth Payne: St. Joseph CES, Bowmanville

• Katie Payne: St Paul CES, Norwood

• Matteo Crimi: Notre Dame CES, Cobourg

• Cheyenne Hudson: St Elizabeth CES, Bownmanville

• Rees Tewsley: St Anne CES, Peterborough

• Keira de LaPlante: St. Joseph CES, Douro

• Emma MacDonald: Monsignor Leo Cleary CES, Courtice

• Chloe McMahon: Monsignor O’Donoghue CES, Peterborough

• Sydney MacLellan: St Paul CES, Lakefield

• Janey King: St Mary CES, Campbellford

• Eva Winn: St Luke CES, Downeyville

• Hunter Young: St Teresa CES, Peterborough

• Connor James: St Mother Teresa CES, Courtice

• Emma Smith: St Mary CES, Grafton

• Daniel Zito: Good Shepherd CES, Courtice

• Jessica Harris: St Mary CSS, Cobourg

• Alisha Byrne: St. Thomas Aquinas CSS, Lindsay

• Addison Gerelus: St Martin CES, Ennismore

• Madison Mohr: St. John Paul II CES, Lindsay

• Raina Williamson: St Dominic CES, Lindsay

• Ayaji Antolin: St. Joseph CES, Cobourg

• Donny Drake: St Anthony CES, Port Hope

• Josiah McMahon: St Alphonsus CES

For a full list of this year’s recipients visit


Leave a Comment