Jess Willford Selected as UW’s Staff Employee of the Year | News

April 18, 2022

Jess Willford

Jess Willford, a manager in the University of Wyoming’s LeaRN Program, a unit of the Office of Academic Affairs, is the UW staff employee of the year.

The announcement was made during the annual Staff Recognition Day celebration this morning (Monday) at the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center.

The annual event honors the hard-working staff of UW. It provides an opportunity to show all staff members how much they are appreciated for everything they do to keep UW — on the main campus and throughout the state — functioning and providing a top-notch educational experience to thousands of students.

Willford was named the UW Staff Employee of the First Quarter last spring. She has served in various roles in the program where she has worked since 2005. Before then, she was a student in the Department of Anthropology. She earned her bachelor’s degree in anthropology in 2004 and her master’s degree in higher education administration in 2019, both from UW.

In her current position, she manages the STEP Tutor Center and academic support programs.

Other staff members honored for their contributions to UW are:

Jodi K. Humphrey Inspirational Staff Award: Susan Stoddard, Student Educational Opportunity senior project coordinator.

EG Meyer Family Award: Karen Drew, Dean of Students Office student welfare coordinator; and Trish Schumacher, Department of Music senior office associate.

All-Star Team Staff Award: Dannielle Fifield, custodial assistant supervisor; Nicole Fifield, custodial manager; Jeff Hill, custodial assistant supervisor; Cassandra Jenkins, custodial supervisor; and Britney Linde, custodial assistant supervisor, all from Dining Services.

Custodian of the Year Award: Ed Moeller, Washakie Dining Center custodian.

Skilled Trades Award: Simon Lieske, Controls Shop control specialist.

Off-Campus Award: Amber Taylor, Student Educational Opportunity project coordinator at Rock Springs.

Supervisor of the Year Award: Jill Aldridge, Residence Life and Dining Services contracts manager.

Unsung Hero Award: Ronda Jackson, Office of Scholarships and Financial Aid financial aid adviser; Sara Robinson, Global Engagement Office’s Education Abroad assistant director; Kirk Scheffler, Utilities Management geographic information system specialist; and Frankie Vogt, Global Engagement Office business manager.

True Grit Award: Dora Montez, Department of Psychology senior office associate; and Maria Bennett, School of Pharmacy academic advising manager.

Pete Simpson Golden Gloves Award: Shelby Kennedy, Service, Leadership and Community Engagement senior project coordinator.

For more information, call the Staff Senate office at (307) 766-5300.

Leave a Comment